Fidgeting with Gratitude

Not so long ago, I kept a small marble pebble close at hand wherever I went. In some ways it was like my Vodafone network, and then one day when I woke up I realised I’d lost it. The idea of this rock was inspired by Rhonda Byrne’s book The Secret which explained how gratitude could be practised in various ways, of which the rock was one.

I was obviously upset when I lost it and I feel I’ve never been as grateful ever since.

Cut to : My recent trip to my brother’s place when he gifted me a fidget cube. Until this square landed in my palms, I never knew such a thing existed.

WhatsApp Image 2017-05-02 at 12.26.20

They say this cube helps people who suffer from Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder. Clearly, my older sibling thought I needed help.

At first I didn’t really put it to use but now when I’ve begun, I can’t seem to be at peace. There are times when I wish I have three hands : two to type and one to fidget with. Its relaxing, soothing and keeps my reactions in check.

So I now take this cube places like my Magic Rock. While I hope it solves whatever little ADHD I suffer from, it also helps me feel thankful for all that I have.

When I click the switch or push the buttons, I thank my stars which has a twin effect of controlling my anxiety and it brings around more of what makes me happy because I’m thankful !

One thought on “Fidgeting with Gratitude

Leave a Reply

